Maryland Chamber of Commerce Announces Board of Directors for 2021-2022

May 19, 2021 / Company News

ANNAPOLIS, Md.— On May 18, 2021, the Maryland Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors voted in the slate of business leaders who will join the organization’s governing body for the 2021-2022 year. In addition, the officers of the board were confirmed as Chairman & Western Regional Chair Gracelyn McDermott, vice president, marketing, sales & business development, Kaiser Permanente of the Mid-Atlantic States; Vice Chairman Chris Hoyson, senior vice president, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company; Treasurer Misty Allen, vice president, government & community affairs, Comcast NBC Universal; and Immediate Past Chairman Steve Woerner, president & chief operating officer, BGE.

The 2021-2022 Maryland Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors includes (* indicates a newly elected board member, ** indicates an executive committee member):

  • Misty Allen, vice president, government & community affairs, Comcast**
  • Thomas Cormier, manager of government affairs, Ahold Delhaize USA
  • Travis Cutler, director, state and local government affairs, Marriott International, Inc.
  • Thomas Dahbura, president and owner, Hub Labels, Inc.
  • Tom Dennison, government & public affairs director, Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative**
  • Denis Dunn, president, AT&T Maryland**
  • Steven Edwards, founder, Edwards Performance Solutions
  • Broderick Green, senior manager economic development, Services LLC*
  • Christopher Griffith, chief operating officer & executive vice president, KCI Technologies Inc*
  • Robert Grohowski, vice president, legislative & regulatory affairs, T. Rowe Price**
  • Christopher Gumiela, vice president, marketing and advertising – regional portfolio, MGM Resorts International
  • Jeff Hargrave, president & CEO, Mahogany, Inc*
  • James Hayes, vice president global government affairs, Tenable*
  • Jim Hayes, president & CEO, Andrews Federal Credit Union*
  • Robert Head, vice president, state, local & PAC affairs, Lockheed Martin
  • Chris Hoyson, senior vice president, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company**
  • Michael Kelly, vice president, Kelly Benefit Strategies**
  • Michael Kiely, president U.S. government affairs, United Parcel Service*
  • Mindy Lehman, senior vice president & chief advocacy officer, Maryland Bankers Association*
  • Anne Lindner, vice president, governmental and external affairs, Pepco Holdings
  • Gracelyn McDermott, vice president, Kaiser Permanente**
  • Clement Miller, senior portfolio manager, M&T Bank
  • Keith Miller, president & CEO, Strategic Factory*
  • Joseph Mezzanotte, partner, Whiteford Taylor Preston, LLP**
  • Tarik Nasir, executive, Iron Flame Labs
  • Paul Nolan, vice president, tax & government affairs, McCormick & Company, Inc**
  • Joseph Ochipinti, CEO, UnitedHealthcare Mid-Atlantic Region
  • Fiona Ong, partner, Shawe Rosenthal LLP**
  • James O’Sullivan, president, North American sales, global tools & storage, Stanley Black & Decker*
  • Mary Penczek, vice president, commercial mid/large group sales, CareFirst BCBS
  • Brent Reitz, president, Post-Acute Care Services, Adventist HealthCare
  • Christine Ross, president & CEO, Maryland Chamber of Commerce**
  • James Sears, president of Maryland operations, FirstEnergy
  • Mark Semanie, market president, WesBanco
  • Blaine Shipler, vice president, commercial banking relationship manager, PNC Bank
  • Andrew Singer, vice president & general manager, east region, Constellation an Exelon Company*
  • Romaine Smallwood-Faison, general manager, Mondawmin Mall, Brookfield Properties*
  • Jack Terry, vice president, deputy operations manager,  Leidos, Inc
  • Pegeen Townsend, corporate vice president, government affairs, MedStar Health
  • James Wagner, assistant vice president – rates & regulatory affairs, Washington Gas
  • Dr. Roger J. Ward, interim provost and executive vice president, and dean of the graduate school, University of Maryland Baltimore
  • Doug White, senior vice president, devices business unit, Emergent BioSolutions, Inc*
  • Dana Williams, senior vice president, managing regional director, Truist Wealth, Truist
  • John Williams, chairman & CEO, Jamison Door
  • Alicia Wilson, vice president for economic development, Johns Hopkins University & Heath System*
  • Stephen Woerner, president & COO, Baltimore Gas & Electric Company**
  • Ex-Officio Board Member: Angela Rose, president & CEO, Harford County Chamber of Commerce

“This new board roster represents an impressive array of business leaders from a wide swath of industries across the state of Maryland,” says Maryland Chamber of Commerce President & CEO Christine Ross. “Our board of directors has never been stronger or more well-positioned to guide our organization as the voice for business in the state.”

“I am honored to join this esteemed group of business leaders who share my goal of ensuring that Marylanders have access to the resources and opportunities they need to thrive – such as great schools, housing, jobs and support services,” said Maryland Chamber of Commerce Chair, Gracelyn McDermott, vice president at Kaiser Permanente. “Having lived in Maryland most of my life, I know it is an ideal place to live, work and play.  I look forward to working with this illustrious board to ensure Maryland continues to grow and support its residents.”

For more information on the board of directors, click here.


About the Maryland Chamber of Commerce
The Maryland Chamber of Commerce is the only statewide business advocacy organization and the leading voice for business in the state. Together with their 5,500 members, they form a statewide coalition that is committed to ensuring that Maryland is attracting and retaining quality jobs, developing vibrant, sustainable communities and staying at the forefront of global competitiveness and economic prosperity.